web analytics
BRDC Formula 4 - February 2013 - Hillspeed Racing

BRDC Formula 4 - February 2013

The BRDC F4 Championship is the most competitive single seater championship in the UK, with grids regularly exceeding 20 cars at each round.

Competing drivers gain strong recognition thanks to an excellent ITV4 highlights show and close links with the British Racing Drivers’ Club, whose members have achieved at the highest levels of the sport. The 2013 top three drivers, including Hillspeed’s Seb Morris, were all finalists in the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The championship features 24 races across eight events, with an outstanding calendar including the Silverstone GP, Brands Hatch GP, Donington Park, Snetterton 300 and Oulton Park circuits. BRDC F4 also supports the British GT Championship at selected rounds.

The weekend format includes a 20-minute qualifying session and three 20-minute races. 

The grid for the first race is set in qualifying order, the grid for the second in the finishing order of race one with the top eight reversed, and the grid for the third race in the order of fastest laps from race one or two. This format provides exciting racing, means that misfortune in qualifying or races doesn’t have to ruin the weekend for drivers, and allows drivers to develop overtaking skills. 

In races one and three, points are scored from 35 for a win to one for 20th. In race two, points are scored from 25 for a win to one for 20th.


BRDC Formula 4 MSV F4-013 Specification



Spaceframe chassis, built by Ralph Firman’s RFR concern


Ford Duratec 2.0-litre, producing 185bhp and featuring a Cosworth engine management system


The gearbox is more sophisticated than any previous car at this level, being a six-speed Sadev system, incorporating steering-wheel-mounted paddleshift gear change, with the gearbox control system also supplied by Cosworth


The car features an advanced spaceframe chassis compliant with FIA Article 277 safety standards. This includes FIA-approved carbon fibre front and rear impact structures, Diolen anti-intrusion side panels, cockpit head surround protection and wheel tethers


Front – 8” wheels
Rear – 10” wheels


Slick and treaded wet-weather tyres supplied by Yokohama



Former Ginetta Junior Championship front-runner Struan Moore is to remain with Hillspeed for his first full season of single-seater action this year after today, Thursday, 14th February, agreeing a deal with the Derbyshire team to contest the inaugural BRDC Formula 4 Championship. Becoming the first driver confirmed for Hillspeed’s assault on Formula 4 this year, Jersey-based Moore – who...

BRDC F4 Car 1 14 Feb 2013 NEW MSV F4 CAR IN ACTION

You can now enjoy exclusive on-track footage of the brand new F4 car, the MSV F4-013, which will compete in the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship. Filmed on location at Norfolk’s Snetterton 300 circuit, the track outing saw GP2 race-winner Jolyon Palmer at the wheel - the official test and development driver of the new single seater. Built to a single specification by Ralph Firman’s RFR...

New MSV F4 car at Snetterton 1 Feb 2013 New MSV F4 car enjoys successful track debut at Snetterton

The new MSV F4 car, the MSV F4-013, to contest the 2013 BRDC Formula 4 Championship, completed its successful track debut yesterday (Thursday, 31 January) with a full day’s testing at Norfolk’s Snetterton 300 circuit. Unveiled earlier this month at the Autosport International Show, the new single seater was driven by GP2 race-winner Jolyon Palmer, who will be undertaking the bulk of the...

Show page of entries from