web analytics
BRDC Formula 4 - October 2014 - Hillspeed Racing

BRDC Formula 4 - October 2014

The BRDC F4 Championship is the most competitive single seater championship in the UK, with grids regularly exceeding 20 cars at each round.

Competing drivers gain strong recognition thanks to an excellent ITV4 highlights show and close links with the British Racing Drivers’ Club, whose members have achieved at the highest levels of the sport. The 2013 top three drivers, including Hillspeed’s Seb Morris, were all finalists in the prestigious McLaren Autosport BRDC Award.

The championship features 24 races across eight events, with an outstanding calendar including the Silverstone GP, Brands Hatch GP, Donington Park, Snetterton 300 and Oulton Park circuits. BRDC F4 also supports the British GT Championship at selected rounds.

The weekend format includes a 20-minute qualifying session and three 20-minute races. 

The grid for the first race is set in qualifying order, the grid for the second in the finishing order of race one with the top eight reversed, and the grid for the third race in the order of fastest laps from race one or two. This format provides exciting racing, means that misfortune in qualifying or races doesn’t have to ruin the weekend for drivers, and allows drivers to develop overtaking skills. 

In races one and three, points are scored from 35 for a win to one for 20th. In race two, points are scored from 25 for a win to one for 20th.


BRDC Formula 4 MSV F4-013 Specification



Spaceframe chassis, built by Ralph Firman’s RFR concern


Ford Duratec 2.0-litre, producing 185bhp and featuring a Cosworth engine management system


The gearbox is more sophisticated than any previous car at this level, being a six-speed Sadev system, incorporating steering-wheel-mounted paddleshift gear change, with the gearbox control system also supplied by Cosworth


The car features an advanced spaceframe chassis compliant with FIA Article 277 safety standards. This includes FIA-approved carbon fibre front and rear impact structures, Diolen anti-intrusion side panels, cockpit head surround protection and wheel tethers


Front – 8” wheels
Rear – 10” wheels


Slick and treaded wet-weather tyres supplied by Yokohama


Rahul Raj Mayer (No.72) - Snetterton 27 Oct 2014 STRONG END TO BRDC FORMULA 4 SEASON FOR MAYER AND ZABALZA

Malaysian single-seater racer Rahul Maj Mayer and Mexican team-mate Alfredo Zabalza produced a strong conclusion to the 2014 BRDC Formula 4 Championship season for Hillspeed at Snetterton 300 Circuit over the weekend, 25th/26th October.   With a hat-trick of top 10 finishes from Mayer, including a best of seventh position during round 23 on Sunday morning, the second year BRDC F4 driver...


Highly-rated Scottish kart racer Kyle Fowlie has scooped a prize test in one of Hillspeed’s BRDC Formula 4 Championship cars after an impressive top four performance during a rain-hit fourth annual Henry Surtees Challenge, which took place at Buckmore Park on Wednesday, 8th October.   Established in memory of the late Henry Surtees, son of four-time World Motorcycling Champion and 1964...

Show page of entries from